Flowers and more flowers

You can see where the blog is headed this fall.  I have gotten my hands more into flowers this summer, and am doing some freelance floral and event design in NYC.  Yippeee! I have been lucky enough to join the Hatch Creative Studio team and am getting involved in all kinds of floral design and event styling.  It’s fun, and SO much hard work.  Major kudos to my fellow fleur-istas out there.  It is no joke, my friends.  Brides and grooms to be – your florist is probably working for every penny you pay them so be kind.

I picked up some flowers at The River Garden at the Union Square Greenmarket yesterday for a $15 flowers post.  I was having a really hard time choosing my favorites so I increased my budget slightly for this edition.  So here you have $40 flowers.  You will see just how far your money can stretch using different sized vases and vessels and dabbling with different types of arrangements and groupings.  I picked up some sunflowers, butterfly weed, cosmos, and snapdragons for the perfect end of summer white and yellow flower-a-palooza.

{The whole lot of flowers stripped and cleaned}

{I couldn’t resist the cosmos! Aren’t they amazing?!}

{I made three large arrangements with a mix of all the flowers}

{I then layered in individual flower types into smaller containers to give a real shout out to each of the fleurs – and to justify my over-the-top collection of vessels :-)}

{All the flowers as arrangements! I hope you enjoyed}

One thought on “Flowers and more flowers

  1. Yay!!! Okay, I am REALLY jealous of the folks over at Hatch, I would LOVE to have you up here!!!!!! Let me know your work schedule, I have some cool projects coming up I think you would be interested in. So happy you are persuing your passion, go Rachel!!!

Leave a Reply

