Holiday Gifting: Day 9

For the yogi or budding yogi….

I would say that yoga has made me a better person.  Once or twice a week for over 10 or so years and I’ve seen a huge transformation.  Not only are my arms wayyy more svelte but I am able to enjoy the word in a new way.  I mean, wouldn’t it be great to give that as a gift to someone? The gift of yoga? Feeling good and looking good??

Here are some ideas – yoga books, gear, and classes – no gimmicks! 

 

BOOKS I LOVE:

The 7 Spiritual Laws of Yoga by Deepak Chopra (I got this last year from my awesome step-dad)

A Path with Heart by Jack Kornfield – I’ve read this at least twice.  Great for meditation!

Tiny Buddha: Simple Wisdom for Complex Questions by Lori Deschene (for the Twitter nut!)

 

GEAR!

Jade Harmony Mat – my personal fave! Cushy and slip proof!

For the hot yogi – Yogitoes skidless towel.  Life saver for Bikram, Prana, and Baptiste!

 

CLASSES!

Ok, so I’m really only an expert on Boston and New York City! But most cities and towns have great, homegrown yoga studios that will sell packs of classes.  My soon-to-be-father-in-law got me a 5-class pack from Jivamukti here in NYC for my birthday last year and it was SO WONDERFUL!

My favorite studios in NYC:

The Shala, Union Square

Jivamukti, Union Square

Mala in Cobble Hill, BK

and recently Bend and Bloom in Park Slope, BK

 

My favorite studios in Boston:

Prana Power Yoga in Newton Corner

Baptise Yoga is Brookline Village

Back Bay Yoga in Boston

Exhale in Boston

 

I’m sure there are tons more so drop me a line and let me know!

Happy breathing and stretching!

Xo!

Leave a Reply

