$15 of mums and carnations

A huge thanks to everyone for your votes for the micro-grant opportunity through Splashlife.  Sadly I was not the winner, but I DID receive over 220 votes and even more informal votes of confidence which blows my mind! I did have an absolute blast attending the DIY Business Conference today at DUMBO Lofts in Brooklyn and got all kinds of inspired and met some great new people. Looking forward to forging new partnerships and future collaborations.

As a nice little break from stationery, I’m bringing you a little ditty I whipped up this weekend. You know how I love flowers, so I will be posting a weekly feature that shows just what one can do with $15 worth of flowers. I’ve dabbled in the past with this idea and it was such a hit that I’m making it a regular thing. Oh, and it gives me an excuse to have gorgeous flowers around our apartment on the regular.

Yesterday I picked up some mums and carnations from our local bodega. Now, typically these are some of the cheapest flowers on the market and scoffed at by florists.  I personally think mums and carnations can be quite beautiful – especially in these blushy, dusty purples and pinks with pops of red.

Mums and carnations – oh my!

How great are these purple mums and green/pink carnations?!

Pick out whatever vases and containers you got laying around and experiment

Like a $3 candle holder from Crate and Barrel

Or a Moroccan tea glass (thanks, Leah!)

Check out how much $15 can get you……

With an entire vase of leftovers!

2 thoughts on “$15 of mums and carnations

Leave a Reply

