30

So today is my highly anticipated 30th birthday (to me, that is:-)). I am such a fan of birthdays but I always have a flood of emotion on my big day each year. This morning I woke up with my head just swimming with thoughts and emotions good and not so good, painful and joyful, feeling both absolutely content and a bit overwhelmed (a la might burst into tears of joy and sadness at any moment).

For me, birthdays are really about reflection and about making yourself available to process and feel the menu of emotions that exist during the year. 30 is especially big for me this year – not only does it mark a major transition amongst me and all my friends (my friend Brita pointed out that my fridge is covered in photos of babies and save-the-dates), but it has been a bit of an emotional overhaul for me personally.  So let me just give you a flavor of all that has happened in the past year for me personally and with all of the people in my life that make me who I am and give me so much love, peace, and strength.  Here it is – the unedited version……

 I went through a painful divorce * Moved back in with my parents  * Lots of tears * I lost a lot of people who had become part of my life due to said painful divorce * Many of those people have since reached out to me * I fell in love with my middle school boyfriend (AP – obvi) *  I took a fabulous trip to Puerto Rico for my favorite Darcy’s bachelorette bash * Lots of laughs * I also spent some time in a sketchy ER in Puerto Rico * I moved to Brooklyn * I got a new job working with BIDs!! and made some excellent new work friends * Anna and Tim had their gorgeous baby Grace * I made lots of new friends thanks to AP and his amazing network and now have a higher tolerance for alcohol 🙂 * Celebrated a legendary 30th birthday bash for Leah and Mike with the entire NNHS yearbook * I had my first experience in a yurt in Big Sur * My grandmother passed away * My little sis’ started a rocking nail art blog and business * Kelsey graduates from Skidmore – woot woot * Nicky moved in with her lovey Mark and they are adorably in love * My mom taught me how to make homemade ravioli * Jim upgraded to an electric bike and can be seen scooting around SLO * Darcy and Matt tied the knot and we danced our hair out * Moved in with AP to a new place in the East Village and left Brooklyn * XP (AP’s bro) and Amy got married! * Had an amazing wedding trip to Cabo and experienced my first Dirty Monkey * Tim and Betsy had baby Charlotte and I have learned all about being a new mama from Bets * Jojo QUIT SMOKING and is a PX90 fiend * Frida and Sydney are sleeping butt to butt on the regular * Celebrated Meliss’ 30th birthday at Flatbush Farm and discovered my love for Bloody Marys * Saw my first Michigan football game at the Big House * Bought a new couch with a chaise (hehe) * Found some new yoga buddies and some great new yoga studios in NYC * Planned a trip to Spain with AP * Ate lots of amazing food * Celebrated Brita’s birthday and her culinary prowess at her $1,000 dinner party * Threw my very first Thanksgiving feast for 16 * Started my blog!!! * Laughed more this year with family, friends, and AP than I can remember laughing in any given year * Embraced my creative side and decided to Go To Town!

PHEW – so as you can see, it’s been a busy year (this is actually the abbreviated version) with lots of happenings and crazy twists and turns. And such is life. Love to everyone who has helped me through this journey, and made me realize my own value in this world – and more importantly, given me an opportunity to love and appreciate them back. Thanks to everyone who has followed this blog – although it seems trite and fluffy at times, it means a lot to me to know people are reading and enjoying.

Xoxo

Rachel

10 thoughts on “30

  1. Happy 30th Birthday Rachel. I love reading your blogs. It has been over a year since I last saw you – you are such a beautiful person inside and out and it shows in your writing. Keep up the good work!
    Hugs, Cathy
    xoxo

  2. Just shed a few tears reading this … Can probably blame on my new mama-cry-at-the-drop-of-a-hat status, but think it’s because I love you so much, too! Happy happy bday, rach. Xo

Leave a Reply

