National Margarita Day

I clearly didn’t get the memo that today was National Margarita Day – otherwise, I would have gone gangbusters racking my brain (or knocking down Uncle Alan’s door for his famous concoction) for the best recipe or drumming up some group outing to sample different margarita varieties at my favorite local eateries. It’s not too late?

As I’ve mentioned in posts past, I am a bit of a Mex-pert on Mexican food. A California native, I am pretttty picky about what makes for an authentic meal. Fortunately, I’ve left the not so Mexillent restaurant options in Boston for greener (or verde, shall I say) pastures in New York City. And man oh man does the East Village have some great options. Here are a handful of places I’ve sampled thus far and my personal takes – other recommendations are welcomed!

Pinche Taqueria

Like the name, this place is great in a pinch (hehe… I’m on a roll with the puns today).  The chicken tacos are great, lots of spicy salsas, but not such a big fan of the guacamole.  SUPER fast delivery, and a fun spot to grab a Pacifico if you’re in the NoHo area.

Sabor a Mexico Taqueria

So it’s tough to say what I love more about this place – the fact that it’s around the corner from my apartment or the authentic Baja-style Mexican food. The tacos al pastor are VERY authentic and VERY delicious – complete with homemade tortillas and cilantro, onions and lime AND habanero salsa.  I have also sampled the burrito which brings me back to Tio Albertos in my hometown of San Luis Obispo.

Dos Toros Taqueria

West coast import, Dos Toros is great for burritos.  Period.  I’ve dabbled in tacos, and contemplated the tostada but they really shine when it comes to burritos – choice of black or pinto beans and two kinds of hot sauce!  Again, the guac is sub-par…. not my favorite. The carne asada burrito is definitely the move.

La Lucha

We just tried this East Villy gem a few nights ago when we were too lazy to venture out.  First off, the guy that took the order and the delivery guy were both delightful!  Super nice, got everything right, and incredibly fast. We tried the roasted corn which was awesome – I bet even better if you eat it there.  The guac was very heavy on the onions.  I didn’t love it but AP fancied the oniony-ness.  Great homemade chips!  We then moved on to the tacos, their specialty.  We sampled the Ciclon Ramirez (chicken with chipotle) and Dr. Wagner (Mayan style pork).  I really liked the Ciclon (AP not so much), and we loooved the Dr. Wagnar.  This is probably the most interesting take on Mexican we’ve had in the hood thus far. I have a feeling we will be frequenting.

Diablo Royale

This place has a meatpacking vibe – not gonna lie. Lots of red glass/walls and leather-studded furniture. The weight staff all seem like they should be wearing chaps, inyaknowwaddamean….. GREAT margaritas, and awesome guac!!!!!!  We also had a pre-fix birthday dinner here for Matty B last fall and did apps, fajitas, and dessert for only $30/head and everything was delicious. I would highly recommend this spot for weeknight birthday dinners.

Mayahuel

I’m a little bit in love with this spot. Great tucked away, no sign restaurant. Cool mosaic tiled tables, fun bar, and cozy upstairs with perfect lighting. Their drinks are their specialty – lots of fun tequila bevies with leafy springs and citrus flavors. A fun place if you’re in the mood to go tapas style and try a bit of everything. The braised pork belly with papaya salsa is a MUST – as is the guac and salsa! Great date spot.

 

So this is the short list of a much more extensive selection of fine Mexican eateries in the hood.  Of course there’s Rosa Mexicana and Dos Caminos.  Eventhough they are a bit overdone, I still think they might have the best guac and some fine drinkies and entrees to choose from. There are also lots of places on my list to try such as Mercadito. Already plotting my next meal at one of these fine spots – now if only I can convince AP to join me!

Leave a Reply

